Oregon Drivers' License Test 2022 - FREE Practice!
Oregon Driver's Licnese Info & Resources:
- Oregon Driver's License And State ID
- Oregon DMV Publications - Driver's Handbook, Guide, Manual, Highway Code.
- Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
- Oregon DMV Regional Office Locations - regional service centers, office hours and addresses.
- Oregon DMV Related Forms and Applications
- Oregon Motor Vehicle Registration
- Moving to Oregon, Non Resident Motorists
- Info for Oregon DMV Teen Drivers
- Official Oregon State Website
Oregon issues several classes of driving privileges. Each class or endorsement defines what vehicles you may drive.
Class C Instruction Permit - You must be at least 15 years of age to apply for an instruction permit.
Class C License - A Class C license allows a person who is at least 18 years old to drive.
C Provisional License (under 18 years of age) - DMV issues a Class C Provisional license to persons 16-17 years of age.
For an original driving privilege of any type or upgrade to a different class, you will need to take and pass three tests, they are Vision Test, Driving Knowledge Test and Driving Skill Test.
- DMV will check your eyesight to confirm you can see well enough to drive safely. DMV conducts tests for visual acuity and field of vision. If you take the test while wearing glasses or contacts, your driving privilege will carry a restriction for corrective lenses.
Driver Knowledge Test
- This test asks questions about road signs, traffic laws, and other information a driver needs to know. The driver manual includes all the information necessary to pass this written test. It is a multiple-choice test with 35 questions. To receive a passing test score of 80%, you must correctly answer 28 questions.
Knowledge tests are given on a touch-screen monitor. The test is available in several languages, with or without audio assistance. If you require a special accommodation to take a knowledge test, please contact your local DMV office.
Each test has a mandatory waiting period between failures. If you fail your Driver Knowledge Test, you must wait at least one day before trying again. If you fail your test four or more times, however, you must wait at least 28 days before taking the test again.
- During the behind-the-wheel drive test, you demonstrate your driving skills and how you obey traffic rules, highway signs, and signals. The test includes turning, signaling, backing, lane changes, speed control, road courtesy, and general driving ability
Sample Driving Knowledge Test Questions
1. What penalties may you face by providing false information on your DMV application?
A. Sentenced to jail.
B. Receive a fine.
C. A one-year suspension of your driving privileges.
D. All of the above.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 6)
Comments : If you are convicted of giving a false statement on your application, using a false or fictitious name or document, or giving a false address or age, you may be fined, sentenced to jail, or both. DMV will suspend your driving privileges for one year due to a conviction or if DMV determines you did any of the above.
2. What is the most common cause of traffic crashes?
A. New drivers.
B. Human error.
C. Bad weather.
D. Bad roads.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 56)
Comments : Human error is a leading cause of traffic crashes
3. How many seconds ahead do expert drivers scan the entire driving scene?
A. 10 seconds ahead.
B. 2 seconds ahead.
C. 12 seconds ahead.
D. 5 seconds ahead.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 58)
Comments : Expert drivers try to scan the entire driving scene at least 12 seconds ahead. In the city, 12 seconds is about one block. On the highway you should scan 12 to 15 seconds ahead, which is about a quarter of a mile
4. What does Oregon's law about safety belts mean?
A. All passengers and drivers must wear safety belts.
B. All drivers and passengers under 16 must wear safety belts.
C. Nobody is required to wear safety belts.
D. Only passengers must wear safety belts.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 70)
Comments : Proper safety belt use is mandatory in Oregon for all drivers and passengers in all available seating positions when the vehicle is in motion.
5. You must stop for a pedestrian at an intersection
A. Only if the pedestrian is on your side of the road.
B. Only if the pedestrian is in a clearly marked (painted) crosswalk.
C. If the pedestrian is in a marked or unmarked crosswalk.
D. Only if there is a walk signal for pedestrians at the intersection.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 79)
Comments : Generally, pedestrians have the right of way at all intersections. There is a crosswalk at every intersection, even if it is not marked by painted lines.
6. What does it mean when you see amber lights flashing near the top of a school bus?
A. The bus just finished loading or unloading children.
B. The bus is stopping to load or unload children. You should get ready to stop.
C. You must remain stopped until the amber lights stop flashing.
D. The bus is loading or unloading children; you may proceed slowly.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 91)
Comments : School bus drivers turn on flashing amber lights to warn other traffic that the bus is about to stop on the road to load or unload children. You should get ready to stop.
When the red lights begin to flash, this means drivers meeting or overtaking the bus from either direction must stop before reaching the bus. You must remain stopped until the bus driver turns off the flashing red lights.
7. Who is most likely to be killed in a work zone crash?
B. Workers and flaggers.
C. Drivers and passengers.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 95)
Comments : Although workers are very vulnerable as they work close to speeding traffic, it's actually drivers and their passengers who are most likely to be killed or injured in traffic-related work zone crashes.
8. Oregon's "Implied Consent Law" means that by driving a motor vehicle you have implied you will
A. Maintain liability insurance as long as you drive.
B. Take a breath, blood, or urine test if arrested for driving under the influence.
C. Post bail or appear in court if arrested for a traffic violation.
D. Keep your vehicle's equipment in safe operating condition.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 97)
Comments : This law means that by driving a motor vehicle you have implied that you will consent to a breath, blood, or urine test, if a police officer asks you to take such a test. The officer may ask you to take a test if the officer has arrested you for driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII).
9. If you are convicted of a first DUII, how long will your driving privileges be suspended?
A. 6 months.
B. 3 months.
C. One year.
D. Two years.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 99)
Comments : If you are convicted of DUII:
â€¢ First Conviction - Mandatory suspension of your driving privilege for one year.
â€¢ Second Conviction - Mandatory suspension of your driving privilege for three years, if the offense occurred within five years of another DUII conviction.
â€¢ Third or Subsequent Conviction - Permanent revocation of your driving privilege.
10. What will happen if you crash and you do not have liability insurance?
A. You will be fined $50.
B. Your driving privileges will be revoked for five years.
C. Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year.
D. You will be fined $100.
(Refer to the Driver Manual Page 102)
Comments : If you did not have liability insurance at the time of the crash, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After that, you will be under the future financial responsibility law for three years. A suspension and insurance filing is required, even if you were not at fault in the crash.
Correct Answers for the above DMV Knowledge Test Questions Are : 1-D, 2-B, 3-C, 4-A, 5-C, 6-B, 7-C, 8-B, 9-C, 10-C